The Mechanism has a roster of 25 independent Judges who serve both branches of the Mechanism as provided for in the Statute.

Election, qualifications, and reappointment

The Judges are elected by the United Nations General Assembly for a term of four years and are eligible for reappointment by the United Nations Secretary‑General after consultations with the Presidents of the Security Council and of the General Assembly.

The Statute of the Mechanism sets out that “the [J]udges shall be persons of high moral character, impartiality and integrity who possess the qualifications required in their respective countries for appointment to the highest judicial offices”. Particular account is taken of candidates’ experience as Judges of the ICTR or the ICTY. Not more than two of the Judges on the roster may be nationals of the same State.

On 20 December 2011, the General Assembly elected the first 25 Judges from a longer list of candidates submitted by the Security Council and following nominations from Member States of the United Nations. The current 25 Judges of the Mechanism were reappointed for a two-year term of office commencing on 1 July 2016.

View the latest Order of precedence in accordance with Rule 22 of the Rules of Procedure and Evidence.

Work and remuneration

For every trial and case of possible referral to a national jurisdiction within the jurisdiction of the Mechanism, except for cases of contempt and false testimony, the President will appoint three Judges from the roster to compose a Trial Chamber. In all other circumstances, the President will appoint a Single Judge from the roster to consider matters at first instance. The President will appoint a bench composed of five Judges to hear an appeal against a decision at first instance by a Trial Chamber and a bench of three Judges to hear an appeal against a decision at first instance by a Single Judge.

The Judges are present at the seats of the two branches of the Mechanism only when necessary and at the request of the President. In so far as possible, and as decided by the President, the Judges will carry out their functions remotely.

The Judges will not receive any remuneration or benefits for being on the roster. They receive remuneration for each day on which they exercise their functions for the Mechanism, following their assignment by the President.

On 11 May 2015, the Judges of the Mechanism adopted a Code of Professional Conduct for the Judges of the Mechanism (MICT/14). This Code of Professional Conduct sets out core judicial principles related to independence, integrity, confidentiality, and outside activities.

The Judges of the Mechanism are supported in the execution of their judicial work by a small team of dedicated Chambers staff.

Current Judges of the Mechanism

Theodor Meron, President

United States of America

Carmel A. Agius


Aydin Sefa Akay


Jean-Claude Antonetti


Florence Arrey


Solomy Balungi Bossa


José Ricardo de Prada Solaesa


Ben Emmerson

United Kingdom

Christoph Flügge


Graciela Susana Gatti Santana


Burton Hall


Vagn Prüsse Joensen


Gberdao Gustave Kam

Burkina Faso

Liu Daqun


Joseph E. Chiondo Masanche

United Republic of Tanzania

Bakone Justice Moloto

South AFrica

Lee G. Muthoga


Aminatta Lois Runeni N’gum


Prisca Matimba Nyambe


Alphons Orie


Justice Seymour Panton


Seon Ki Park

Republic of South Korea

Mparany Mamy Richard Rajohnson


Ivo Nelson de Caires Batista Rosa


William Hussein Sekule

United Republic of Tanzania

Former Judges of the Mechanism

Patrick Lipton Robinson