The Security Council, by its Resolution 1966 (2010), established the Mechanism to carry out a number of essential functions of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda and the International Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia. In accordance with its mandate, the Mechanism has assumed responsibility for, inter alia, the enforcement of sentences, administrative review, assignment of cases, review proceedings, appeal proceedings, contempt, requests for revocation of the referral of cases to national jurisdictions, the variation of witness protection measures, access to materials, disclosure, changes in classification of documents and requests for compensation and assignment of counsel. The Selected Ongoing Cases are only a few of the pending judicial proceedings, related to the above-mentioned essential functions, currently before the Mechanism. For information about all proceedings before the Mechanism, see All MICT Proceedings.

Selected Ongoing Cases



Jovica Stanišić was the Head of the State Security Service (“DB”) of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of the Republic of Serbia (“MUP”).

Franko Simatović was employed in the Second administration of the DB of the MUP.

Both accused were acquitted of all charges by an ICTY Trial chamber on 30 May 2013.

On 15 December 2015, the ICTY Appeals Chamber ordered that Stanišić and Simatović be retried on all counts of the indictment.

Recent developments: The trial commenced before the Mechanism on 13 June 2017.

KARADŽIĆ, Radovan (MICT-13-55)


On 12 May 1992, Radovan Karadžić was elected as the President of the Presidency of the Serbian Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina. From 17 December 1992, he was the sole President of Republika Srpska and the Supreme Commander of the armed forces of Republika Srpska.

Sentenced by an ICTY Trial Chamber to 40 years' imprisonment on 24 March 2016.

On 22 July 2016, both parties filed their notices of appeal. 

Recent developments: The appeal hearing in the case will take place on 23 and 24 April 2018 at the Mechanism's Hague branch.

MLADIĆ, Ratko (MICT-13-56)


On 12 May 1992, Ratko Mladić was appointed Commander of the Main Staff of the army of the Serbian Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina (“VRS”). He remained in command of the VRS Main Staff until at least 8 November 1996.

Sentenced by an ICTY Trial Chamber to life imprisonment on 22 November 2017.

On 18 December 2017, Ratko Mladić filed a motion seeking an extension of time to file his notice of appeal against the ICTY Trial Judgment.

Recent developments: On 19 December 2017, the President of the Mechanism assigned a bench of five judges to this case before the Appeals Chamber. On 21 December 2017, the pre-appeal judge partly granted the motion for an extension of time and ordered that any notices of appeal in this case be filed within 120 days of the issuance of the ICTY Trial Judgement. On 22 March 2018 both parties filed their notices of appeal.

ŠEŠELJ, Vojislav (MICT-16-99)


In February 1991, Vojislav Šešelj was appointed President of the newly founded Serbian Radical Party. In June 1991, he was elected as a member of the Assembly of the Republic of Serbia.

Acquitted by an ICTY Trial Chamber on 31 March 2016.

On 29 August 2016, the Prosecution filed a public redacted version of its appeal brief.

Recent developments: On 11 April 2018, The Appeals Chamber reversed Mr. Šešelj’s acquittal, in part, and dismissed the remainder of the Prosecution’s appeal. The Appeals Chamber sentenced Mr. Šešelj to 10 years of imprisonment. The sentence was declared served in view of the credit to which Mr. Šešelj was entitled under the Rules of Procedure and Evidence for the time he spent in detention pending trial from 24 February 2003 to 6 November 2014.

NGIRABATWARE, Augustin  (MICT-12-29)


In July 1990, Ngirabatware was appointed Minister of Planning, a position he retained as part of the Interim Rwandan Government in April 1994. He was also a member of the Préfecture Committee of the National Republican Movement for Democracy and Development (“MRND”) political party in Gisenyi Préfecture, the National Committee of the MRND, and the technical committee of Nyamyumba Commune.

On 20 December 2012, Ngirabatware was sentenced by an ICTR Trial Chamber to 35 years of imprisonment. On 18 December 2014, the Mechanism’s Appeals Chamber reduced Ngirabatware’s sentence to 30 years of imprisonment.

Recent developments: MICT Appeals Chamber granted Ngirabatware’s request for review of the Appeal Judgement on 19 June 2017.

All MICT proceedings